Posted by: Cathy | July 18, 2016

My best vacation

Coach Blog 071116 theme vacation On July 6, I asked you “What is the best vacation you’ve ever had?” I was trying to answer for myself, but I couldn’t pick just one!

I’ve had lots of great vacations. I was thinking of the elements that made those vacations great, and I’ve come up with these:

1. Intuition. I went where I wanted, when I wanted. Sometimes, there was a play or event I traveled to see. Other times, I just had an urge to see something, like the Scottish highlands on the summer solstice. But I didn’t rationalize my desires. I just went with what I wanted and figured out how to do it.

2. Friends. Up until a few years ago, I always went on vacations with friends or to visit someone. When I started traveling on my own because friends couldn’t make the trip with me for whatever reason, I still had fun, but I decided to start finding pen-pals in Rome and Paris so I could still have that element of friendship even when my best friends can’t go with me. I’ve had some great times already with my new European friends. I didn’t let my lack of companionship stifle my desire or ability to travel.

3. Adventures. Again, following my intuition, I’ve been lost in Rome, Venice, Edinburgh, and Paris, and managed to stumble across some great sights and restaurants I wouldn’t have otherwise found. By going with the flow rather than just sticking to a game-plan, I’ve had some fun (or frustrating) moments, but all of it has been memorable. I stay curious and see where interesting roads lead.

Think of your favorite vacations and what common themes or elements there are, and be sure to invoke those elements when you plan your next vacation!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

