Posted by: Cathy | April 29, 2016

Artist Date: First Friday Art-walk

Denver has a free monthly art event called “First Friday” where local galleries are open free to the public with special exhibits and events, food, music performances, theater performances, you name it. I finally went to this in the Santa Fe arts district on April 1 and it was a great way to spend an evening.

I met up with a friend and we browsed in a few galleries before we had dinner and drinks at a place up the street. I got inspired to work on my own art and I discovered two new-to-me local artists I plan to support by purchasing some of their prints (after I come back from vacation!). If only I had more money to buy an original or three.

I love events like these because I get inspiration and local artists get exposure. I don’t know why it took me so long to check it out; I definitely want to make it a habit at least a few times per year.

Many other cities do this, I know Seattle’s is on the first Thursday, so search in your area for something similar or suggest it to galleries in your town! Artists are everywhere, and I get especially inspired to see what the artists in my community are up to. What are yours up to?

Coach Blog 042216 art district map

Leave a Reply

Categories

