Posted by: Cathy | March 25, 2016

Artist Interview: Priscilla George

To help inspire us creatively, I’m doing a series of artist interviews about art and how to make it happen. Today, watercolor artist Priscilla George answers my seven questions.

1. What do you create? How did you know this was the medium for you?

I create watercolor paintings of animals and nature items; every animal in air, land, or sea and every piece of nature like feathers, leaves, flowers, and crystals. Watercolor has always captivated me ever since High School. I took a class outside of school on watercolor painting but the subject was snow scenes. When the class was done, I could only paint snow scenes and nothing else. Watercolor got pushed aside for a long time until I gave birth to my daughter. I couldn’t paint with acrylic like I was because I was wasting paint, it made a mess, took up more room than I wanted, and if I had to stop immediately I could mess up blending. It was then I that I forced myself to figure out how to watercolor in order to keep creating.

2. How did you learn your craft? What are you still learning/practicing in your art?

I’ve always drawn and made art since I was little. Animals and nature have always been what I have created. All through high school, I took every art class I could. Thankfully, my high school had a really great arts program so I had so many great teachers and classes in every medium possible. I went to two art colleges for two years. How I learned watercolor was by that one class I took in high school and just by playing around, looking at videos, and reading some watercolor books. The rest was just practice; a lot of practice. I’m still learning how to make my subjects look even better in watercolor; how to not add every detail but make it look finished. It’s a battle I have of trying to not be a super-detailed perfectionist and not getting so detailed. I’ve yet to win that battle; I always revert back to putting in every little tiny detail I can.

Otters by Pricilla George

Otters by Pricilla George

3. What are your top three favorite subjects/themes in your art and why do those speak to you?

Animals, shells, and forests are the three subjects I paint the most. I love all three of those. I’ve always been an animal person, I love to go hiking through the woods and look through the trees, and wish I could be a beachcomber but I suck at finding awesome shells. My main subjects are all things I love a lot. It would be hard to paint things I am not interested in.

4. Which artists have influenced you and what have you learned from them?

Morten E Solberg has the perfect watercolor style that I wish I could achieve. Heidi Willis creates these super-detailed, large, elaborate watercolors that yet again I wish I could paint. I have learned from them to both loosen up and that it is also okay to be super-detailed and planned out.

5. Why do you create? What do you get out of it?

I’ve always created, I really don’t know why I do it but I just do. It’s who I am and what I have always been. Even when I didn’t paint for years, I was still crafting, knitting, making jewelry, and moving my hands to create something. The process of painting is very zenful. When I really get into a painting, I’m hyper-focused and time just flies. There are times a painting just flows so easily and it becomes an addictive moment I want to have over and over again. I’m not a big talker and I’m horrible at writing, I’m not musical, or sporty, so what is left is nature and art. Everyone has something they are naturally good it.

6. How do you prioritize your art among all the other things you do in a day or week?

Prioritizing art is hard to do. I’m a mother to a 5-year old and wife so my list of things to do is pretty long. When my daughter was little, I would paint during nap-time or at night. Then as she got older, it was only at night I could paint. Thankfully, I’m a night owl and my daughter is not an early riser so it worked out. She is very independent and, now that she is getting older and my mother-in-law lives with me, I get much more time during the day to make art. At first, it was finding any free time and deciding if I really needed to be doing something. Housework falls to the side right now because I just don’t have the time to do everything equally well. Now that my art commitments have increased, I have work I have to do and get done. When there are deadlines, I have to use any time I get and some weeks there are days I stay awake until 5:00 a.m. and get 3 hours of sleep, repeat that for a few days.

7. What message or advice do you have for would-be artists?

My advice is to never give up. If you have a dream to be an artist, pursue it head-on. Paint every day even if it’s a sketch. Put your art out there; no one will buy it if they don’t see it. Ask for opportunities, don’t wait for things to just happen to you. Set up a website, a store or etsy, get business cards, and tell everyone you know and who ask that you are an Artist with confidence. Network with people and you will see doors open that wouldn’t have happened if you were holed up. Lastly, create all the time! You can’t sell anything if you aren’t making anything.

————

Priscilla paints with watercolors to create bright, fun, simple, and playful works of art. She focuses on natures creatures and natural treasures. Being a passionate nature- and animal-lover, her aim is to shed light on the world’s natural beauty to take time to see the details and inner light of every animal and nature item the Earth provides.

Check out Priscilla George: Web . Etsy

Leave a Reply

Categories

