Posted by: Cathy | March 24, 2016

Artist Date: An Evening with Iyanla Vanzant

Selfie in the audience

Selfie in the audience

On March 4, I went with some friends to see Iyanla Vanzant:

“Join us for an intimate, no-holds barred evening exploring and replenishing your spirit with New York Times best-selling author, executive producer and host of the critically acclaimed Iyanla: Fix My Life on the Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN).”

Here are some of my notes:

“Trust yourself, take care of yourself in the good times so you can trust yourself and take care of yourself in the tough times.”

“When you trust yourself and the divine in you, you’ll know whomelse to trust.”

“Repetitive experiences sharpen our tools so we can choose something different next time; opportunities.”

“Clear where you’ve been to make room for where you’re going; continue to move through the process.”

“You don’t get what you ask for; you get what you expect.”

“Life builds muscles, what muscles are you strengthening?”

“When you know, when you’ve really learned, your behavior changes; you’ll grow what is required to move you down the path.”

It was a very inspiring evening, and inspired me to revisit the plans I set for the new year back on my birthday in September. I love going to talks like these, because it reminds me what I already know, plugs me back into possibility, and re-centers me on the right track. It’s so easy to get distracted with “real life” that we amble away from our authentic life, so I like attending things like this a few times per year.

Is there an event in your area coming up like this to inspire and recenter you? Or is there an online resource, like Ted Talks, you could tap? Look for inspiring opportunities; don’t just wait for them to fall in your lap.

Leave a Reply

Categories

