Posted by: Cathy | March 2, 2016

Theme: March Madness vs Mindfulness

Coach Blog 030216 march madness mindfulness buddha basketball I don’t follow basketball, but some of my day-job coworkers do a March Madness pool every year, so I’m always aware of the college basketball playoffs whether I want to be or not. The “madness” refers to the excitement of the competition, but among all that, I want to make March about Mindfulness for me.

The days are getting warmer, the sun is out longer, and this makes life feel more open and flexible than the constriction of winter. More things are possible this time of year. With this spaciousness, I want to sit and center and be sure I’m on the right track. Mindfulness is a tool I want to focus on this month.

Mindfulness can be as simple as checking in throughout the day, maybe at breakfast, lunch, and dinner, to be sure I am choosing my life and not reacting to it. I will try to recommit to my meditation practice to enjoy the spaciousness and fresh air, even for just 15 minutes per day. I will journal at the end of the day to reflect on my moods, my energy level, and how I responded or reacted to what happened that day.

A mindfulness practice can be whatever you want it to be, you just need to take a little time to notice what is going on within and around you. You don’t need to do anything with what you notice, but it’s all about having a choice, being able to choose if and how you respond, rather than going reactively through life.

Would you like to join me for March Mindfulness? What mindful practice would best support you right now?

.
.
.

Responses

  1. […] This month, my theme was March Mindfulness. […]

  2. […] Photo Scavenger Hunt 6. My half-birthday! 7. “We already are what we want to become” 8. Theme: March Madness vs Mindfulness 9. Work-Art Balance 10. Why creativity is so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

