Posted by: Cathy | November 25, 2015

Flying to Italy!

Me tossing my coin, Trevi fountain, Rome, Oct 2, 2012

Me tossing my coin, Trevi fountain, Rome, Oct 2, 2012

This morning, I woke up early and my roommate drove me to the airport. I change plans in Atlanta and then fly to Rome. I’ll be spending 8 wonderful days in the Eternal City. I can’t wait.

I had a summer vacation in Italy this year but I caught a cold on the way there and ended up sick in bed for nearly my whole trip. I didn’t take any other time off this year, so I decided to redo my Italy trip before the year ended, so I can still have some fun and recharge before the new year. I’m taking the opportunity to give myself what I need, and I need more Italy.

What do you need? You might not be able to meet your needs in a big way right now; maybe you don’t have the vacation time or the budget to follow me to Rome or your own dream vacation, but notice what you need and think about how you can get it. Make a list of ways, big and small, you could meet your need.

Some small ways I’ve been meeting my need since the summer were: taking Italian language lessons, finding a Roman pen-pal, watching Roma football, listening to Italian music, and exploring Italian wines.

Don’t wait for your needs to be met. There is no knight on a white horse who will show up at your doorstep and give you everything you need. Identify what you need and be your own hero; give yourself permission to get what you need and take steps to gift yourself.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

