Posted by: Cathy | September 23, 2015

QQ: Atonement

Questing Questions From sunset last night to nightfall tonight, it is Yom Kippur, the Jewish Day of Atonement. I’m not Jewish, but I’ve always been curious about the holiday, since it often falls on/near my birthday, and I thought it might make an interesting topic for reflection.

According to Wikipedia, it “is the holiest day of the year for the Jewish people. Its central themes are atonement and repentance.” It seems to be about making a clean slate before the beginning of the new year.

* What would you ask (of yourself or others) to be forgiven for this year?
* What amends feel right for you to offer, symbolically or practically?
* What could you begin to forgive (in yourself or others)?
* How might your life change if you could give yourself a clean slate?

Personally, I’m still working on forgiveness. It’s not easy, but I do see that it could be healing. I know from mindfulness teaching that unforgiveness is keeping a part of you in the past where you felt fractured, not the present moment where you are whole. So I plan to use this holy day to work on my Wholiness.

What about you, do you resonate with the themes of atonement and forgiveness?

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

