Posted by: Cathy | September 2, 2015

Self-care as Stewardship

Coach Blog 090215 stewardship I think I got this idea of self-care as stewardship from one of the excellent hosts on Hay House Radio, but I didn’t write down which, so I apologize for not giving proper credit. However, I love this idea and want to talk about it.

If you look at self-care as stewardship, it becomes less a “luxury” or something to procrastinate and more simply logical sense. We only have so much time, energy, and physical strength or health – we best serve ourselves by conserving and replenishing these resources.

What would it look like to be a good steward of your time? Your skills? Your health? The answers are different for everyone, but I encourage you to think about this as you plan your daily/weekly to-do list and schedule commitments.

For me, to be a good steward of my time, I would spend more time on the things that are important to me and give me joy. For my skills, I would use my talents for art and writing on more of a regular basis, for only I can bring my art and writing into the world. For my health, I would eat for energy and enjoyment, not just whatever is quick and tasty.

Ask yourself these questions:
* Do I feel good about how I’ve been using my [time, skills, intellect, health, money, etc.]?
* What could I do to feel better about how I use that resource?
* What is one step I can take to make that happen?
* What can I do to replenish or strengthen this resource?

Try to check-in about this regularly, perhaps at the end of the day or week as you’re planning for the next.

Review your personal resources and take care of yourself to maximize them!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

