Posted by: Cathy | August 3, 2015

What need is your stress hiding?

Coach Blog 080315 stress and needs At the Hay House “I Can Do It” event in April, davidji said “Stress is what happens when our needs are not being met.”

I hadn’t thought of it that way before, and I find it very insightful and very helpful. Right now, name your biggest stress. What need isn’t being met? How can you try to meet that need?

Right now, I think my biggest stress is how much I want and need another vacation, since my Italy trip was spent mostly in a sick bed. Obviously, the need here is self-care. I want to treat myself, to spend time doing something fun and different, and soak at the beach.

So what steps can I take to meet this need? I think I need to pick a time soon for vacation, whether I go to the beach or not (I live in Denver, so that would be a destination vacation). I’ve been thinking about alternatives – I could go to some hot-springs in the mountains, but it’s still pretty hot here anyway and I’m not sure that’s what I need right now. I could find a hotel with a nice pool, but I’m an introvert and I might not want to hangout with strangers at a hotel pool. I could do a stay-cation and visit a few different bodies of water; a picnic at the river, a swim in the reservoir, etc.

I’m still working out the details, and I need to stay on myself so I don’t procrastinate on the details and never take my time off. But the point is I have recognized a point of stress, identified the need, and am thinking about filling that need.

What do you need? Look at your biggest stress point and notice what it is trying to teach you. Meet your needs
and reduce some stress!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

