Posted by: Cathy | May 20, 2015

Journal Wisdom: Participate

Coach Blog 052015 participate I was going through a journal I kept along with a class I took in November and this sentence struck me: “I need to stop protecting myself from the life I want … I need to participate.”

How often do we choose old habits because they are easier and more familiar than making the changes we want to see in our lives? This is a personal lesson I remember over and over.

My four main personal goals for this year were:
1. Lose 30 pounds
2. Prioritize my writing and finish a particular project mid-year
3. Travel to Italy on two weeks of vacation
4. Find a romantic partner

It’s past the mid-point of May and I have only made progress on #3 – I am going to Italy for two weeks in June, and I have my airfare and lodging booked.

The other three things are important to me, so why have I not made progress in those areas? Due to distractions and stress, I may have gained 10 pounds instead of losing 30. I haven’t done any fiction writing since early March, again due to distractions and stress. I have gone to a few social meet-ups but I haven’t had any dates.

I don’t want to make excuses; I want to make progress. I need to participate and set stronger boundaries to protect my time and energy to meet my personal goals. That is much easier said than done, but I’m tired of not being successful in areas of importance to me. I need to revisit my habits and routines to see what is supporting my goals and what isn’t, and then I need to make some changes. I need to participate in my own success.

What about you? Where do you need to participate? Share your thoughts or comments below or on Facebook!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

