Posted by: Cathy | April 20, 2015

Self-care: Clean out your inbox

Coach Blog 042015 inbox I have been busy lately. I don’t enjoy being busy. I’ve been trying to keep notes to myself so I don’t forget things, but I still have a lot of thoughts and ideas floating around in my head, to the point that I’ve had a little trouble sleeping in the past few weeks. I rarely have trouble sleeping, so this has been a red flag for me that I need to do something differently.

So what did I do today to help this problem? I spent some time clearing out my email inbox.

I should have written down how many messages I had in my inbox before I started. I do not follow a “zero inbox” policy. I send myself emails to follow up later on links or blog post ideas. I keep unread newsletters in my inbox (some I’m starting to file in theme folders like writing or coaching or business). I keep receipts and travel itineraries and meetup notifications until after the event (I’m starting to file these better as well). In short, my inbox quickly grows unwieldy.

When my life is getting crazy and my mind is overworked, it helps me to sit for a bit and sort through my inbox. I delete or file as much as I can. I follow up on items that will just take a minute. I really should make this a weekly Friday practice to keep my inbox in good shape.

Sorting through my email helps me create a little order from the chaos. Nothing big has changed in the process, but my corner of the world appears a little more manageable and that gives me some peace of mind.

How is your inbox? When is the last time you sorted through it? What tips do you have to keep your inbox organized?

I’d love to know your thoughts in the comments here or on Facebook!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

