Posted by: Cathy | April 13, 2015

Rewrite Your Story

Coach Blog 041315 typewriter i can Today is Monday the 13th. Why are we superstitious about Friday the 13th but not Monday the 13th? It has to do with the meaning we give the story of Friday the 13th.

Guess what? We can change the meaning and rewrite the story. We can turn an unlucky superstition into something happy.

Think of a story you tell yourself that isn’t supportive. Maybe something like “I never finish what I start,” or “I just can’t lose this weight,” or “My dream is just out of reach.” Pick a story and rewrite it.

You can either physically write it in your journal, sit and imagine it, or collage it in a vision board. Start by validating yourself and thinking of some things you have accomplished; make a list of past “wins” big and small. Recognize some of what you have accomplished and set your rewritten story in this energy of accomplishment. Then write your story as if you could overlay this accomplishment to the situation. If you could tackle the story from a place of power, how would you approach it? What would you do differently? Here is an example …

I have many unfinished writing projects, but they were practice to get me to where I am today. Every word I wrote helped me to improve as a writer. With this new project, I sit daily and make a little progress one day at a time. I sit daily whether I feel like it or not, because I’m a writer and that’s what writers do. After three months, my first draft will be complete and I’ll be a stronger writer than I am today. I am flexing my creative muscles with my writing practice and, as I grow stronger as a writer, I finish this novel one day at a time.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

