Posted by: Cathy | March 16, 2015

Artist date: Vacancy

Coach Blog 031615 artist date planning For a few weeks, I’ve been trying to get to a particular art exhibit in Golden, Colorado. It’s a bit of a drive from where I live and it hasn’t come together for me. At first, we had snow I didn’t want to drive in. Then I was exhausted from a busy week and didn’t want to spend that much time in the car.

Putting it off for different excuses, I tried thinking of what I would like to do instead for my artist date this month and I was drawing a blank. I decided to spend some time reflecting on what kind of artist date would most nourish me and then look for it, rather than looking at options I don’t feel drawn to or trying to make something fit. An artist date should be a happy event I look forward to, not a “should.”

So I sat with a journal and gave myself the prompt, “What would my ideal artist date look like this month?”

Lately, I’ve been craving nature and live music. It’s a bit early in the year for an outdoor concert, so I think I’ll make it a two-part outing. I can go for a late-morning hike, go home to clean up and take a nap, then go out to a music venue. I’ll aim to do this next Saturday, the first weekend of spring!

What are you craving for artistic nourishment? How can you create your own artist date around it? When can you schedule it?

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

