Posted by: Cathy | January 19, 2015

Artist date: Nature and Journal Lunch Date

Coach Blog 011915 One of my new year’s goals is to take an “artist date” each month, a la Julia Cameron, and share the results. Today, I’m sharing about a creative outing I took in November.

After Thanksgiving, instead of Black Friday, I took a Green Friday on Nov 28. I live near Denver and I decided I wanted to go up into the mountains to Idaho Springs. I’ve driven past Idaho Springs dozens of times on my way to Breckenridge, Vail, Aspen, etc. but I had never stopped, so this visit was long overdue. I planned to do a short hike at Echo Lake Park and have lunch at Beau Jo’s pizza. I brought my journal with me to lunch for a “journal date.”

It was a lovely day but quite cold in the mountains. There was some highway construction at Idaho Springs so it took a little detour to get up to Echo Lake Park, but I did and it was worth it. It was very windy, so I didn’t hike long, then made my way back toward town to check out the historic Idaho Springs cemetery I noticed on the way up. I was the only person visiting the cemetery that day so it was very quiet and still except for the wind in the trees.

I got to Beau Jo’s, ordered a small pizza, and settled in with my journal. I don’t often go out to eat alone, but with my journal I didn’t feel out of place. I wrote a number of pages of my thoughts and feelings and it felt great. The pizza was delicious (onion and artichokes with a cream sauce).

It was a delightful and relaxing way to spend the day. I took in the beauty of Echo Lake, the peace of the cemetery, and the tastiness of the pizza. Afterward, I browsed on the main street and bought myself a mala bead necklace and some hand-made chocolates.

If the object of an artist date is to replenish your well, I definitely felt replenished.

If you’d like to try a similar artist date, think of your area and a town or neighborhood you rarely visit, set a date, and pack your journal!

.
.
.

Responses

  1. […] Monday, I mentioned going on a journal date. I was in the mood to journal because I was taking an awesome class from Lisa Lister called Write […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

