Posted by: Cathy | December 31, 2014

Novice Knowledge

A while back, I wrote a post called Begin Beginning and turned it into a free ebooklet.

Coach Blog 123114 Today, I want to talk about “novice knowledge,” which is a phrase I made up. Basically, as a novice, we have casual knowledge about an advanced topic. We may be eager to learn it better, or maybe we need to learn it better to get where we want to go. But we acknowledge that, today, we know as much as we need to know and do what we can with that information. Tomorrow, we might learn more, but today we don’t lament our novice status and rather do the best we can with what we have.

As we go into the new year, you might be making plans and setting goals. You probably need to increase your knowledge in a number of areas to get where you want to be in 2015.

For example, for my goals, I would like to go to Italy in June. I’ll need to research places to stay, transportation options, and brush up on my beginning Italian vocabulary. Also, I want to improve my business marketing, and I have a whole action plan to support that goal, including reading a few books.

To embrace my novice knowledge in these two examples, I don’t need to be fluent in Italian language and culture in order to take a vacation in Italy. I don’t need an advanced degree in marketing to improve my coaching business. I do what I can toward both of these goals and learn a little here and there as I go, trusting in any moment that I know what I need to know and will keep learning when I need to know the next thing.

This new year, trust that you know what you need to know today and that opportunities will arrive to help you learn what you need to know as you go. Embrace your novice knowledge and enjoy the ride.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

