Posted by: Cathy | December 24, 2014

Interview: Eli King

Coach Blog 122414 EKing Our last interview for the year is with Eli King.

Eli is the creator of the Seven Day Slim online training program for busy women who want to lose weight quickly and efficiently. Eli believes that living a healthy lifestyle doesn’t have to take hours and hours, but can be achieved 15 minutes at a time. She champions bodyweight workouts that can be done with no equipment in your pajamas in your living room. Her free YouTube videos take less than 15 minutes of your time and will help you to become leaner, fitter, stronger and healthier. Eli also shares her philosophy on eating real food that nourishes your body and asks that you forget about low calorie, low fat, low carb or any other fad diet, and focus instead on eating fresh, nutritious and delicious food that is a joy to make and a joy to eat. You’ll find more at www.elikingfitness.com or www.facebook.com/elinorking.lifestyle.

1. How long have you been interested in personal development? What started you on this path?

I think I’ve always been interested in personal development. I love to learn, and I’m constantly striving to become better. When I first became a Trainer, my health was all over the place, and I felt really out of my depth. I was learning alongside people who had been playing sports their whole lives and I was learning simply because it was something I enjoyed doing, and wanted to teach other people to enjoy. That lead to me reading any thing and everything I could on fitness and nutrition, which has led to researching behaviour change, habits and other personal development books. It’s a bit of a rabbit hole, one idea leads onto another and another and another …

2. Who have been your biggest teachers? (Authors, bloggers, artists, coaches, etc.)

Jana Kingsford has been a huge digital mentor to me. She has a way of breaking things down to their simplest form that makes even difficult topics easy to understand.

3. What is the most profound life lesson you’ve experienced?

The power of habit and routine in our lives. This works both ways. We have good habits and routines that work with us to move us towards happiness and achievement, and bad habits and routines that take us away from it. Being aware of the behaviours that present as routines in our lives can be really powerful in instigating change. I really struggle to get my exercise in on days when I don’t train clients, because my habit is to go to the gym in my way home from my morning clients. I’ve had to create a new routine for my days off. Similarly it’s really easy for me to stick to my diet habits because I’ve created habits that keep me on track.

4. What lesson is most challenging to you? What do you keep re-learning or remembering but it hasn’t stuck?

Self acceptance. Its one I continue to learn. As soon as I feel like i’ve got it, I’ll get a sharp reminder that I have to keep practicing. For a long time I felt like I wasn’t a ‘real’ personal trainer because I wasn’t super skinny, or doing figure competitions, but I learned that by walking the journey with my clients I can help them in more meaningful ways.

5. Where do you go (physically, mentally, and/or spiritually) to help integrate your learning?

Always the library. I love to read, and I find the atmosphere and calm of the library helps me to focus. I’m an obsessive note taker and have piles of books of notes on books. I love to flip through them and go back over the lessons I took. If I’m struggling to incorporate a specific lesson I take it to God (the universe, a higher power, whatever you believe) and I ask for help, then let go of it. If it’s important it will find a way into my life.

6. What self-care practices do you have to support your well-being?

This is something that I have been struggling with this year. And I recently wrote about it on my blog. I have been feeling incredibly burned out and needed to bring the focus back to self care. For me this means moving my body, eating good food and taking time to stop working so much. Sleep is also a huge thing for me. I work early mornings and late nights with my clients, and often that means I miss out on sleep which leads me to sugary foods and a lack of motivation in all areas of my life.

8. What is a great personal development or well-being resource you want to mention?

Meditation is something that I’ve found really useful not only for myself but with my coaching clients too. We are bombarded with business all day everyday, and it is so important to take a step back and to connect with your true self. Whenever I start feeling overwhelmed I take a step back and breathe for a few minutes in a mini meditation. It took me a long time to learn, and I’m still learning all the time.

9. What do you want to teach anyone reading this? What is the most important thing you want to share in this moment?

Walk your own path. comparing yourself to others is a self destructive behaviour that can lead to watering down your message and a deep unhappiness. You can only be you. Sure, ask for advice, learn new things and let it take you in a new direction, but always bring it back to you and your core message, because you are unique and have so much to offer the world.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

