Posted by: Cathy | December 22, 2014

Sitzfleisch

Coach Blog 122214 I’m on a Word-a-Day email list by Wordsmith.org and a few weeks ago this word caught my attention.

Sitzfleisch

noun:
1. The ability to sit through or tolerate something boring.
2. The ability to endure or persist in a task.

From German Sitzfleisch, from sitzen (to sit) + Fleisch (flesh).

“Sitzfleisch is a fancy term for what’s commonly known as chair glue: the ability to sit still and get through the task at hand. It’s often the difference between, for example, an aspiring writer and a writer. Sometimes the word is used in the sense of the ability to sit out a problem — ignore it long enough in the hope it will go away.”

I’ve heard of “chair glue” and Heather Sellers’ “button chair” (“butt on chair”), but for some reason Sitzfleisch is more appealing to me. Perhaps because my ancestry is more than half German; perhaps because I like words with Z, X, V, or Q because they’re not as common.

But I mention this because language is important. Different people resonate with different words. I’m going to try getting my Sitzfleisch on in 2015. If there’s something you need jazzed up, play with words until you find a phrase with energy. Look up foreign translations, turn it into word-play as a rhyme or anagram. Find a word that works for you.

Sitzfleisch has energy for me, and we’ll see if that translates into getting more sitzing done or not, but I’d much rather invoke Sitzfleischzeit (sitting flesh time) than chair glue. Heck, I might even embroider Sitzfleisch as a wall decoration so I remember to try it. (I’ll post a photo on Facebook if I do!)

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

