Posted by: Cathy | December 3, 2014

Our deepest fear is that we’re powerful beyond our imagination

297518_10150954765241222_1021412715_n I recently took an awesome 28-day program from Lisa Lister called Write Your Freakin’ Heart Out. My intention was to build a regular journal practice. My practice still isn’t quite regular, but I did have some awesome insights.

One of these was about anger. Anger is a topic of interest to me of late. In addition to a journal practice, I was thinking about how to express anger regularly in a healthy way so I don’t keep things bottled up. One of Lisa’s prompts asked us to look at the triggers for our anger, and I noticed a thread and why it is sensitive for me.

One of the core things that make me angry is when what I’ll call my sovereignty is infringed upon or disrespected. Examples of this would be people cutting me off in traffic, wasting my time (telemarketers), or mistreating my things (a dent in my car from another car’s door in airport parking). The reason these things are such a hot-button issue for me, I realized, is that I have trouble owning my own power, so I resent other people not respecting it.

This was a big ah-ha moment for me.

I like this quote from Marianne Williamson, but it also makes me uncomfortable:

“Our deepest fear is that we’re powerful beyond our imagination.”

If my life isn’t satisfying, I have the power to change something; I think the real fear comes if I accept the power and responsibility. What if I change something and things get worse? It’s easier to complain about a situation than to change it. The key is to remember my power and make an effort.

If life is about the journey and not the destination, the power comes in taking each step, in not standing still. It’s not about climbing a ladder to the top, but in being an active participant in life; being a co-creator.

We have the power to participate in every moment. It’s not about solving every world problem, but to notice in each moment what choice I’m making and if that choice is accepting or avoiding my power. When I stop avoiding my power and start really participating in life, I have a feeling I won’t have as much anger bottled up.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

