Posted by: Cathy | November 24, 2014

Free Falling – Releasing gets easier the more you do it

Coach Blog 112414 When I’m clearing out my clothes or craft closet, I try to do it systematically. I look at everything I have and put it into three piles: definitely keep, definitely give away, and I haven’t decided yet.

I always start with the “definitely give away” pile and put it in a bag for Goodwill. It immediately makes me feel like I got something done and it makes the closet look neater. It also makes it easier for me to work through the “I haven’t decided yet” pile. Some things become easier to decide, and the things I’m still not sure about go on a shelf in the closet … if I still haven’t decided to keep it after another month, it goes to Goodwill.

Releasing gets easier the more you do it. If you only go through your clutter once per year, it’s a big task and becomes emotionally draining. But if you go through your closets regularly, it’s easier to recognize when you’re over something and ready to part with it.

The same thing goes for your goals and projects. Go through your files or your digital folders regularly to remind yourself what you have to work on, review your priorities, and release the stuff that doesn’t resonate with you anymore.

Eventually, maybe releasing will become a joyous task, like tossing confetti. Celebrate the expansiveness and increase of flow you feel when you release something!

Try releasing a few things before the holidays to make space for abundance as we approach the new year.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

