Posted by: Cathy | November 10, 2014

Block Fatigue

Coach Blog 111014 My blog outline said I should talk about blocks today, but I’m tired of blocks and don’t want to use my original topic. At some point with creative blocks, you just get fed-up and drop them. It might take a long time, as it has for me, but eventually the block gets boring.

Blocks serve a purpose or they wouldn’t be successful. Maybe your block is perfectionism keeping you paralyzed, or procrastination trying to protect you from failure. It helps to recognize what purpose your block is serving so you can catch it in the future, but just recognizing it doesn’t change it.

My block has been about low energy immobilizing me. I have a day job, so I can’t dictate my own schedule, and this has been an issue my entire adult life. I’m choosing stability and a reliable pay-check, but I’m not getting my soul’s work done.

I’m not sure what the answer is yet. I know I need to prioritize self-care so I can find the energy to do what I need to do. Getting in better health will improve my energy. Mindfulness techniques will help me choose where I spend my energy. Spending time with uplifting people will help refuel my energy. Journaling will help me notice how my energy fluctuates.

This gives me an idea for a coach nibble exercise, so I’ll talk more about this next week!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

