Posted by: Cathy | October 20, 2014

Cluttered Desk, Cluttered Mind?

Coach Blog 102014 I’ve been doing an experiment where I take a photo of my desk each month (look at the album on Facebook).

I disagree with the assumption that a cluttered desk is evidence of a cluttered mind. In my experience, my mind is more cluttered when my planner is blank, because that means I’m not doing my brain-dump and getting tasks scheduled and to-dos done.

Sometimes it helps me move forward on a task if I take a break and organize my desk. Doing a small, easy chore can give you a “win” to propell you into further action. But, for me, a cluttered desk doesn’t hinder me from getting work done.

What does hinder me is usually my energy level. If I’m physically tired or emotionally fatigued, I have trouble focusing. In those instances, it better serves me to have a nap and recharge. (If this applies to you too, check out my free energy budget workbook! It’s on the Downloads page under Self-Care.)

When you’re having trouble focusing or getting work done, pause and notice what is hindering you. Maybe you do need to just clear off your desk. Maybe you need to take a nap. Maybe you need to do a brain-dump to get distracting thoughts or reminders out of your head. Instead of trying to plow through, take care of yourself first and then your project work will happen a little more easily and more naturally.

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

