Posted by: Cathy | September 10, 2014

There is no “right” way, only Your Way

Coach Blog 091014 I’m turning 37 in a few weeks; I’ll be moving into my late 30s. Only in the last few years have I embraced My Way of doing things. I’ve explored my own sense of style in dress and in art. I’ve explored what is right for me in nutrition and exercise. I’ve been open to experimentation to improve what is working in my life and release the stuff that isn’t working.

If you feel blocked on a project or goal, check in to see the way you’re working. Are you following Your Way or someone else’s way? Are you too rigid in defining what Your Way looks like? Could you tweak Your Way to get the flow moving again?

For instance, every fall, I get inspired to organize. It’s probably the back-to-school energy, even thought I haven’t been in formal school since 2000. I like to look at planners and organizers at bookstores and online; I look at planner pages on various blogs; and I scour the internet for new-to-me planning systems. And yet, with all the wealth of organizational systems out there, I still can never find one to suite me 100% and I end up creating my own new system for the year.

(Check out my “Design Your Own Planner” ebooklet from last year! It’s under the Project Planning downloads.)

Each year, I redefine My Way of annual planning and organizing. Some years, I just make a few cosmetic changes; other years I do a major overhaul of my systems. I’m not sure what 2015 will be, as I’m still experimenting and exploring to discover what My Way will look like.

Embrace Your Way of doing things! Follow your own instincts and do what feels best for you.

And if you want to share your own planning/organizing system in the comments, I would love to hear about it!

.
.
.

Leave a Reply

Categories

