Posted by: Cathy | July 30, 2014

Interview: Kerryn Hewson

Coach Blog 073014 KHewson This month’s interview is by Kerryn Hewson. Kerryn is a Positivity Coach at Colour Your Life. She provides a shit ton of perspective, inspiration and action to help ambitious, creative and passionate people living their life on auto-pilot change their world by leading a positive life.

1. How long have you been interested in personal development? What started you on this path?

I really started looking into personal development when my goal of making a career out of writing novels hit a major brick wall. I had been working on revising the same novel for two years and slowly came to realize that it was fundamentally flawed and I was utterly burnt out. I had to find a way to recover and to start over again with my writing goals.

2. Who have been your biggest teachers? (Authors, bloggers, artists, coaches, etc.)

The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron was the first book that really started getting me back on track and particularly using Morning Pages. I even created a Quick Guide to Morning Pages that I wish had been around when I started using them.

Leonie Dawson! Since I first discovered her she’s shifted her focus from personal development to business development but she still has a lot on offer including the wonderful Create Your Amazing Year workbooks. It was also with her guided meditations that I started meditating the most I ever have.

3. What is the most profound life lesson you’ve experienced?

What you focus on is what you’ll see and receive more of. The fundamentals of this idea is explained in The Happiness Advantage by Shawn Achor as The Tetris Effect because your brain naturally seeks out patterns.

The awesome thing about putting this into practice is that the more you focus on being grateful, the more things you’ll see to be grateful for. The more you focus on positive reasons and outcomes to explain the whimsy of life (that are just as valid and likely as the negative ones) the more positively you will navigate through the ups and downs of life. The more you seek out opportunities, looking in unexpected places, and always being open to new ideas the more often you will experience synchronicities helping you get to where you want to go.

If you’re interested in started to practice positivity I send my readers a new monthly positivity practice every month and have compiled the past year of practices into a free e-book.

4. What lesson is most challenging to you? What do you keep re-learning or remembering but it hasn’t stuck?

Oh my gosh, how to be productive but not overwhelmed or burnt out! I have to always be working towards something, creating something, or learning something so my down time is minimal or at least very strategic. I’m constantly practicing different ways to regain perspective, realign my plans, schedule my to dos, be as productive and focused as possible, and still look after myself with lots of self-care.

5. Where do you go (physically, mentally, and/or spiritually) to help integrate your learning?

I like finding a quiet cozy place all to myself like a beanbag in the sun with a pen and paper to hand. I’ll think and write, scribble down ideas, look up quotes, re-read sections, and write some more.

6. What self-care practices do you have to support your well-being?

This year I committed to a daily gratitude practice and that’s taken various forms from using a personal Gratitude app on my phone, sharing on social media under #smiletoday, and most recently including my husband as we end our days together by asking ‘What made you smile today?’.

I also have a smorgasbord of self-care practices that I go to when I need to rebalance including painting my fingernails bright colours, massages, bubble baths, knitting, Morning Pages, meditation, and putting on my favourite dance tunes!

7. What is something you’ve stopped doing to improve your well-being?

I’ve stopped being singularly focused on reaching the next goal, completing the big project, achieving the next level. Life is a journey, not a destination. And there is always another goal, another project, and another level of success to reach. Instead I’m focusing on what activities I want to make up the days and weeks and months of my life. All the things I need to do to reach the same goals are there in the journey but they’re framed differently so the joy is in living each day and not a handful of successes each year.

8. What is a great personal development or well-being resource you want to mention?

I’m doing a lot of reading in and around positive psychology and there are some fantastic books that have some really practical ideas of how to make small changes like The How of Happiness by Sonja Lyubomirsky and Before Happiness by Shawn Achor.

I honestly think that reading about personal development is the best way to get started. It opens our mind to new ideas and changes how we think about life and what’s possible.

9. What do you want to teach anyone reading this? What is the most important thing you want to share in this moment?

Start with you! You can’t change other people and you can’t necessarily change your situation but you can always change your perspective and you always have a choice. So, choose the perspective that brings you the most happiness, the activities that bring you the most job, and the actions that are true to who you are.

Responses

  1. […] Check out the full interview to learn… […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

