Posted by: Cathy | July 2, 2014

Interview: Renee Shupe

Coach Blog 070214 RShupe Renee Shupe shows you how to get the groove back in your business, so you can be empowered and in control. She is inspired everyday by the members of her Awesome Business Community where she mentors, coaches and provides training to creative and independent business owners. Renee has worked with hundreds of amazing women building small and big launches, websites, email campaigns and she has coached many more awesome women feel empowered and in control as they build their own awesome businesses. You can connect with Renee at ReneeShupe.com and AwesomeBusinessCommunity.com.

1. How long have you been interested in personal development? What started you on this path?

I don’t think I can really pinpoint the time where I turned to personal development as a path or direction for me. I have always had folks near to me that had me asking questions all the time and exploring what is going on in my life. I grew up in a community call Errington, it’s on Vancouver Island in Canada and there was a very open communal feel to the community and not that I noticed that at the time, but as I look back it has had a definite impact on how I live my life.

2. Who have been your biggest teachers? (Authors, bloggers, artists, coaches, etc.)

My mother has always told me that I had my nose in a book since a very young age, I’m always and I mean always reading. Even at a young age I was reading books far beyond my age, I guess being insatiably curious can do that to a person! Today, though I’ve discovered that I want to go deeper in making life be more meaningful, that there is a greater purpose to what all of us are here to do and we each have our own path to follow and our own story to share.

As a child, I can now see the influence my Nana had on me, her openness and genuine caring for what was happening to her world had a deep impact on me that I am only now realizing. She was a generous, open and incredibly be caring woman who has made a big, big impact on who I am and what I am choosing to do with my life. This next one will make some folks laugh, but my dog, Fozzie is constantly reminding to take a moment, breathe and enjoy the moment. He has a very happy in the moment attitude that it’s hard for me to ignore. He’ll often come to my desk at just the right moment to encourage me to take a break from what I am doing at the moment.

Others who are not necessarily so close to me personally would be Leonie Dawson, I absolutely love her approach to life and how she has built a business around who she truly is, it’s what I am striving for in my own business and I love her continual reminders to keep moving towards who you truly are and forget the rest!

A book that had a huge impact on how I look at things and how I interact with the world, in fact it’s time to read it again, is the Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle. It was one of those books that had me going, OMG – that’s exactly it! It also helped see the term God (with a capital G) in a new light, as my schooling had a negative affect on me with that term.

3. What is the most profound life lesson you’ve experienced?

When I was in school I attended two very different religious private school, the first was incredibly open and explored religion as a way of learning, the second was very focused on one dogma with no willingness (to me at the time) to be flexible and understand that we’re all ultimately trying to accomplish the same thing, this experience turned me off any type of spiritual journey for a while and caused me to struggle for a long time.

Over the years though, I’ve discovered and truly embrace that we are all just energetic souls with higher purposes that for many of us we’ll never truly understand and each of us has an opportunity to take this life we are given and to share our gifts with so many others. If even in our lifetime we only make an impact on one other soul, we’ve accomplished something amazing.

Beneath it all, we are all just the same looking for the same thing no matter our beliefs.

4. What lesson is most challenging to you? What do you keep re-learning or remembering but it hasn’t stuck?

As much as I wish I could say I’m enlightened that that nothing challenges me, it’s simply not the case. I think one of the hardest things for me to remember and to keep learning is that I don’t always have to right. It comes out in small ways, even an automatic “no” to my step-son when he express something. I often find myself correcting something for the sake of being right, it’s not always healthy and has had some negative impact on folks close to me.

5. Where do you go (physically, mentally, and/or spiritually) to help integrate your learning?

I’m an introvert, thought I wasn’t someone who identified myself that way until recently, actually after ready Susan Cain’s book, Quiet. So for me, it’s my own down time. My me, time. The time when I can just simply sit, enjoy the surroundings and my own thoughts.

6. What self-care practices do you have to support your well-being?

It is so incredibly important for me to have time to myself, opportunities to explore, read and create. I discovered that my art is just that, my art. It doesn’t have to be perfect to be awesome and so I spend time creating in journals, experimenting. Also any time, I have that I can sit and be quiet is a good time for me ūüôā

7. What is something you’ve stopped doing to improve your well-being?

Getting rid of all of the negative media and I stopped watching any celebrity news. It wasn’t until I stopped the negative feeds and the celebrity news that I discovered how much of an influence it had on me.

8. What is a great personal development or well-being resource you want to mention?

I also love reading ZenHabit.net – Leo Babuta has some incredible insight on keeping things simple and focus on what’s important and lastly, I really appreciate the works of Wayne Dyer, his books especially his books, “Change Your Thoughts, Change Your Life: Living the Wisdom of the Tao and Excuses Begone: How to Change Lifelong, Self-Defeating Thinking Habits

9. What do you want to teach anyone reading this? What is the most important thing you want to share in this moment?

That we each have a purpose that is ours and that it’s okay to be exactly who we are. We don’t need to be anyone else or mold ourselves to fit someone else’s ideal. We are who we are and if those around us don’t understand that, then that’s on them to figure out not you.

Responses

  1. […] Catch my Interview¬†–¬†Did you see my interview over at Explore Your Own Depths?¬†¬†You can read about my path in life and how my exploration of myself lead me to where I am today. ¬†Read the post here. […]

  2. […] Catch my Interview¬†–¬†Did you see my interview over at Explore Your Own Depths?¬†¬†You can read about my path in life and how my exploration of myself lead me to where I am today. ¬†Read the post here. […]

  3. […] Catch my Interview¬†–¬†Did you see my interview over at Explore Your Own Depths?¬†¬†You can read about my path in life and how my exploration of myself lead me to where I am today. ¬†Read the post here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

