Posted by: Cathy | June 2, 2014

Spring Action Flow – Buzz

Coach Blog 060214 Spring is often buzzing with energy. Students often get “spring fever” and have difficulty focusing in class. I often get the urge to try lots of new things and start new projects as the days get longer. After the stagnancy of winter, it feels good to be active, buzzing over different projects like bees buzzing to different flowers.

This time of year, I allow myself a few weeks of play, seeing which projects naturally draw my attention, seeing what I feel like doing, and just getting some of the antsy energy out of my system. I write some bad poetry, I doodle, I dust off my art and collage supplies, and I play with some digital art.

After I’ve had some play-time, I try to narrow down my focus, gradually releasing little, fun projects until I have 1 or 2 I want to explore more deeply. Right now, I’m working on a new novel project because my energy has kept drawing me back to it.

Whenever you’re having trouble focusing, respect your buzzing energy and allow yourself to try a few new things just for fun, even just for an afternoon. Follow your energy. Eventually, it will settle down again and allow you to focus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

