Posted by: Cathy | May 26, 2014

A Rolling Stone Gathers No Moss

Coach Blog 052614 How do you keep momentum on a project? Once you’ve started, how do you stay motivated to keep moving? Here are a few tips.

1. Have a plan.
Write down all of your action steps in their smallest parts and arrange them in a logical order. It helps you maintain focus when you have the steps planned out and don’t need to take time every day or week to figure out what your next action is. Spend a little time making a map, and then just follow your map. To make it more fun, consider making it like an actual map instead of a boring to-do list.

2. Make appointments with your goal.
Decide how much time you can devote to your goal and schedule it in your calendar. Or pick a deadline and work backwards to see how many sessions you’ll need to meet the deadline. Don’t wait for “someday” – pick a day and move toward it. Again, to make it more fun, give your appointments a name. Instead of just a “writing session”, you can have a “Date with Muse.”

3. Make it a habit.
I’ve heard it takes 28 days to create a habit. You can create slow but steady momentum on a goal if you do a little bit every day. Maybe the first week you do 10 minutes per day, the second week you do 15 minutes, the third week you do 20 minutes, and the fourth week you do 30 minutes. All of a sudden, you have a habit!

4. Tell a friend or three.
It’s not fool-proof, but it helps me when I know someone will ask me about my progress. I pick people who I know will encourage me and keep me honest. When I admit I haven’t kept to the schedule I set up, these people ask me why and help me regain focus.

As you’re getting a project off the ground, try some or all of these tips. Let me know if you have any other tips in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Categories

