Posted by: Cathy | April 2, 2014

Interview: Tricia Talavera

For April, our interview is with Tricia Talavera, the organization enthusiast who manages the day-to-day operations and Save Your Time Biz Solution brand journey.

Coach Blog 040214 ttalavera 1. How long have you been interested in personal development? What started you on this path?

I’ve always been interested in personal development, even before I realized there was an official name for it. I’ve always read for the sake of reading, and my parents encouraged me to learn beyond what was happening at school. So it’s just always been there.

2. Who have been your biggest teachers? (Authors, bloggers, artists, coaches, etc.)

I’ve met a lot of incredible people since I began my journey as an entrepreneur, two that come to mind first are Shelagh Cummins and Lara Galloway, the brilliant minds behind the MomBiz Academy. When I first became an entrepreneur, I wasn’t a mom. And I think I always took it for granted that I’d make it work whenever I did become a mom, but I didn’t actually take into account how I would do it. What I love about the two of them, is that they make me feel like it’s okay to want to be a mom and a business owner, without sacrificing yourself or your sanity. But more important, it’s okay to not KNOW how you’re supposed to do that and that you might need some support. Being a mom business owner has tested my boundaries for uncertainty, but having people like them to support me makes all the difference.

Another person I’ve learned a lot from is Denise Duffield Thomas. Prior to reading her blog, I didn’t realize just how much of an impact my money blocks were having on my business and my personal financial matters. It wasn’t until I stopped and thought about it, that I realized how many memories I had about money and how the emotions about those memories were still impacting my decisions today. Also, since I’ve started reading her blog I’ve gotten addicted to decluttering, both with emotional and physical clutter.

3. What is the most profound life lesson you’ve experienced?

“Sometimes when things are falling apart, they may actually be falling into place”. When I attended the MomBiz retreat last year, they basically told us that it was time to start over. It was a difficult thing to do, after everything we had invested. But listening to them turned out to be one of the best decisions we’ve ever made. I won’t say we have it all figured out, but we’ve made more progress in the last 7 months, than we had in the three years prior. Now we’re doing what we love and working with awesome people. So now when it seems like everything is falling apart I have to remind myself that it may just take time to see what’s really happening and I just have to be a little more patient.

4. What lesson is most challenging to you? What do you keep re-learning or remembering but it hasn’t stuck?

“Whether you think you can or you can’t, you’re right.” Simple, but so powerful. I’ve realized that my biggest obstacle in the last few years, has been my own mindset. When you think you can do something, you’re open to every possibility and you take every rejection as a sign that it’s time to change tactics, not to quit. When you think you can do something, you look for evidence that confirms your desires and ignore anything that doesn’t. More importantly, quitting never becomes an option because it’s a matter of WHEN this will happen for you, rather than IF. It’s something I’m currently working on, and every time I start to doubt this road I’m on I tell myself that I’m the only person who can decide that this won’t happen, and that only becomes true when I decide to give up.

5. Where do you go (physically, mentally, and/or spiritually) to help integrate your learning?

I’m an introvert by nature, so although I love interacting with other people, it can be very draining. When I’m ready to integrate my learning, I usually take some time by myself to just take it all in. This usually means turning on some music and free writing in my journal to collect my thoughts.

6. What self-care practices do you have to support your well-being?

I filled out the 100 things to do in 2014 from Leonie Dawson’s Create Your Amazing Year, so I have multiple ideas for how to take time for myself. Depending on how stressful or busy my week has been, I’ll try to cross off multiple items at one time.

7. What is something you’ve stopped doing to improve your well-being?
I’ve decided to limit the energy I spend on toxic relationships. Being a mom, wife and business owner, I have plenty of chances to second guess myself, I don’t need anyone else doing it for me. So for the sake of my sanity, I’ve decided to eliminate those relationships which do nothing but drain me.

8. What is a great personal development or well-being resource you want to mention?

Leonie Dawson’s workbooks are amazing. Using them has provided so much clarity on what I want and where I’m going, and I made so much more progress towards my goals just by writing them down.

9. What do you want to teach anyone reading this? What is the most important thing you want to share in this moment?

One of my favorite affirmations is, “Everything that is happening now is happening for my ultimate good.” When you believe that everything that’s happening is ultimately in your best interest, even the disappointments become easier to handle. At the end of the day, living you have all the potential in the world (which you do), will serve you better than focusing on the negativity other people choose to wallow in.

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Life Lessons* from a Twenty-Something.


Leave a Reply

Categories

