Posted by: Cathy | January 8, 2014

Interview: Sierra Koch

Today, I bring you the first in my interview series on personal development! Our first subject is Sierra Koch (thespiritualityseeker.com).

Coach Blog 010814 sierra-koch Sierra loves creativity and strives to sprinkle happiness glitter everywhere she goes. Her motto is: It’s all good. She blogs at her websites thespiritualityseeker.com and reikistuff.com for fun, and to spread the awesomeness that is personally spirituality and Reiki. If she helps one person learn about spirituality or Reiki, she’s a happy camper.

1. How long have you been interested in personal development? What started you on this path?
Forever, always reaching to make myself the best me I can.

2. Who have been your biggest teachers? (Authors, bloggers, artists, coaches, etc.)
My mom, she’s a huge huge huge influence in my life, always my biggest fan in everything. She is the most positive, cheerleader, go-getter, leader I know. She can always put a smile on someone’s face, and can always point out the positive, even if you just want to crawl under the covers and sleep for the rest of your life. It’s not only her family she helps, she does this for anyone that needs it. I seriously wouldn’t be where I am in life without her.

Another teacher would be working in retail. I had to learn serious patience and learn to keep my temper in check. People can be frustrating when shopping and they don’t get their way, it’s an art-form to learn how to diffuse those people.

Recently I’ve found this awesome blog by Ragen Chastin called Danceswithfat.wordpress.com, she’s amazing and really helped me with my body issues.

3. What is the most profound life lesson you’ve experienced?
Seriously greatest lesson I’ve learned recently: Whatever anybody else thinks of you is none of your business. Great great advice. I thought I was living it, until it was pointed out that I still hold myself back, I was still balking at wanting to do what I want because I was afraid that it would look bad to someone else. But really, what someone else thinks of me is irrelevant to my life and happiness, ESPECIALLY if it’s someone I don’t know!

4. What lesson is most challenging to you? What do you keep re-learning or remembering but it hasn’t stuck?
Patience is…not for me. Chalk it up to my generation if you wish, but patience keeps cropping up in my life and I just don’t like it!

5. Where do you go (physically, mentally, and/or spiritually) to help integrate your learning?
I like to meditate on the lesson if I really need help integrating something in my life. Sometimes I just need to keep learning to make it stick. That’s not always the most fun way to go, but sometimes it’s really essential.

6. What self-care practices do you have to support your well-being?
I personally love Reiki, meditation, and using crystals. Reiki, for those that don’t know is an energy healing modality founded in the early 19th century in Japan by Miakao Usui. It is not faith healing, it is for physical/mental/emotional/spiritual healing, and you might not get what you want, but you’ll get what you need. It’s wonderful, it’s soothing, and I just love it. I do Reiki every night before bed and whenever I feel I need extra support during the day. I normally meditate while I Reiki because I feel it gives the time spent an added benefit.

Crystals give me something to hold onto, they are pretty haha, and they help with meditation and Reiki. I love personal research to see how I react to the crystal’s energies.

7. What is something you’ve stopped doing to improve your well-being?
I’ve stopped worrying about losing weight. It’s another lesson the universe is trying to pound into my head–you can be healthy at any size, you don’t have to be a twig, a size 2, a size 10, a size 12, you can be happy and healthy at plus size. That’s what I’m striving to do. Happy and healthy, if along the way I lose weight-great, if not that’s still awesome too, as long as I’m healthy I don’t care. I’m going to be happy being me no matter the size.

8. What is a great personal development or well-being resource you want to mention?
If you are having body image issues because you think you have to look like a model, seriously check Ragen Chastin, she’s great, no nonsense, she tells it like it is.

9. What do you want to teach anyone reading this? What is the most important thing you want to share in this moment?
Don’t let anyone hold you back, most of all, don’t let that anyone be you. If you’re afraid of failure, get over it, everybody fails, it’s not the end of the world.

Leave a Reply

Categories

