Posted by: Cathy | December 4, 2013

Fears = Discomforts

I see lots of articles about “fighting your fears” – I’ve even written a couple of them! And yet, the word “fears” has never resonated with me. I am a confident lady; it takes a lot to ruffle me. I don’t think I have any fears.

And yet, I do procrastinate and avoid stepping into my power. It was only recently that I discovered that “discomfort” could be another word for fear. I have plenty of discomforts.

I’m not comfortable being the center of attention. I’m not comfortable having my writing or art critiqued. I’m not comfortable in large groups. I’m not comfortable owning my power for more than short periods of time.

Coach Blog 120413 If an opportunity shows up on your doorstep, or you get a new idea for a project, or you start to feel bored with a goal, check to see if you feel discomfort. Sit with it and analyze it. Is it a fear or limiting belief holding you back?

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”
Neale Donald Walsch

Of course you might feel discomfort at the edge of your comfort zone! Don’t fear discomfort – welcome it as a sign that you’re doing something right!

Leave a Reply

Categories

