Posted by: Cathy | September 23, 2013

Fall in Love with Your Goals

Yesterday was the autumn equinox – when the day and night are of equal duration. That means the nights will start getting longer as we move toward winter.

Longer, cooler nights are a great excuse to stay home and cuddle up. I want to encourage you to spend some of this quiet time to reconnect with your goals. Fall in love with them all over again!

Coach Blog 092313 Here are some ways to stay inspired:
* Think about when you started your goal, and write a letter from that previous you to the current you, reminding you how excited you were to get started
* Think about the future you when you have completed your goal, and write a letter from that you to the current you, letting you know how great it felt to complete it
* Write a love letter to your goal and explain why you are committed to achieving it
* If you have any idols who have completed your same or similar goal, look for books, movies, or articles about them
* Spend an evening doing your quarterly review, but make it a romantic dinner! Cook your favorite meal or get take-out
* Create a little goal altar on a shelf or corner of your desk with items of signifigance for your project

Do you have more ideas to share? Please post them in the comments!

Responses

  1. I am working on my quarterly review as we speak. I don’t want to lose touch with what is so dear to my heart. At this stage, my business goals are my priority. I am doing the work, but not allowing myself to get overly stress on the results. Do the work, see what happens, celebrate and readjust, then repeat.

    • Great! I’m so glad you include “celebrate” in your process 🙂

  2. Love the romantic dinner idea. I’m an organizing nerd and usually get caught up in the details. As much as I love planning and evaluating, I tend to get way too involved, skipping meals, not going to the bathroom, etc. At the end of my planning/evaluating, I’m exhausted. A nice dinner with myself (and some bathroom breaks!) might be a nice change.

    • Sounds like a plan 😀

  3. my goal for the rest of this year is to spend more time with my son as he is growing way to fast.

    • wonderful!


Leave a Reply

Categories

