Posted by: Cathy | August 21, 2013

Adjust your routine, what isn’t working anymore?

I’m a creature of habit. It’s easier for me to get important things done when I schedule them. I have a good morning schedule for my yoga and meditation, but my evening schedule has gotten off track; I end up going to bed late, and that impacts the following day in a way I don’t enjoy. I want to be more mindful of my bedtime while still getting some tasks done, such as a workout, some chores, a short writing session, and my reiki practice; so I need to adjust my routine.

Coach Blog 082113 Last year, I encouraged you to try doing a time budget to see where you’re spending time and whether it’s in alignment with your priorities (I have a free ebooklet on this topic available here). Sometimes, you don’t need to go into that much detail; you can easily see or feel that your schedule isn’t working for you.

As soon as you notice this imbalance, I encourage you to do something about it. Spend a little time considering how you would rather feel and what that might look like in your schedule. In my situation, I want to feel more purposeful with my after-work hours and more rested the next morning. Then decide what you could do to invoke that feeling with the time you have available.

Getting off track happens slowly over time. It may take you a while to notice how far you’ve drifted from your intention. Don’t stress about it, just make adjustments and get back on track. Remove what isn’t working and find a new routine.

Responses

  1. I’ve been thinking of this alot lately. I’m not a morning person, but because of my schedule, I have more free time before work than I do after work. I’m trying to allow myself to only eat dinner, work out, journal, meditate, and read at night. If I have to get anything else done, then I need to use the time I have in the morning for that. I’m naturally more productive at night than in the morning, so it’s difficult adjusting to the new pattern, but my current habits aren’t working well either. So, time to try something new.

    • Yeah, I used to be an evening person, but I made myself switch to morning person, but now that the mornings are getting dark it’s been difficult for me to get out of bed 😛 Maybe I need to live at the equator so I don’t have this problem!


Leave a Reply

Categories

