Posted by: Cathy | July 29, 2013

When the going gets hot …

Colorado, where I currently live, is always hot in the summer, and this year in particular has been a scorcher. I don’t like cold weather, so I try not complain in the heat and just soak it in. I watch the mercury climb and stay thankful that my toes aren’t freezing.

Coach Blog 072913 However, I don’t like to be busy. When tasks are piling up, I feel like I don’t have the ability to choose what I do or how I spend my time; my to-do list dictates my life. Some people thrive on that. I’m not one of those people.

I try to schedule my time and projects so that I don’t get busy, but it can’t always be avoided. When I do find myself in a busy period, when my schedule gets “hot”, I have a mini-shutdown. I stop everything and defiantly claim quiet time. This allows me to reinforce the power of choice.

Of course, there may be consequences by choosing to shut down, and I usually can’t do it for long. Look at the consequences for you before you take a stand; but even claiming a 15-minute break and turning off your phone can give you a powerful mood-shift.

It may not be possible to turn the dial down on summer, but you can turn the dial down on busy-ness. Claim your power of choice!

Leave a Reply

Categories

