Posted by: Cathy | July 17, 2013

Feel Better in Any Moment

I heard an interview with Louise Hay, of Hay House publishing, and she says she will pause and ask herself, “What can I do in this moment to make myself feel better?”

You can shift your mood and energy in any moment. If you’re feeling stressed, what could you do to be proactive with the issue causing your stress? If you’re feeling tired, what could you do to energize yourself? If you’re feeling good, how could you expand it and share it with someone else?

Coach Blog 071713 I’m trying to do this mood shifting in traffic. I don’t have a long commute, about 15 minutes each way, so in that respect I’m quite lucky; but you don’t have to be on the road long to encounter a rude or incapable driver. Whenever someone cuts me off, or isn’t doing the speed limit, or seems to not know where they’re going, I get irritated. When I notice I’m in a moment of irritation, I try to shift it. I mentally brush off what the other person is doing and focus on something else; a fluffy cloud overhead, a tree along the road, a song on the radio. Those things make me feel better.

Whenever you’re in a mood you don’t want, shift it. You can take action in any moment. Be deliberate with your action and do something to make yourself feel better.

Responses

  1. This is something that I have to keep in mind all the time since I live in my head so much. It’s easy to forget that everyone else doesn’t know what’s going on in your head to cause your bad moods.

    “If you’re feeling good, how could you expand it and share it with someone else?”

    That’s a great point, too! If you’re in a bad mood, then you should work to shift that. If you’re in a good mood, don’t shift – share. Gonna try to remember this as well 🙂

    • Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

