Posted by: Cathy | May 20, 2013

“Dreams are illustrations…”

“Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you.” – Marsha Norman

I write fiction. I’m more tuned-in to stories than your average person walking down the street. Still, I can get wrapped up in the mundane story of daily life instead of the story my soul wants to write.

Coach Blog 052013 Here’s an example of a mundane story: “I had trouble getting out of bed this morning because the room was chilly and I didn’t want to leave my nice, warm bed. Then I had to rush to get ready for work and ended up being late because my dog took forever to poop on our walk. At work, Suzie was having a computer issue, so I helped her figure it out, and then I had to rush to meet my own deadline because that took so much time. Then I had to run an errand on my lunch hour and traffic was bad, so I had no time to work on my fiction writing. By the time I got home, I was tired and exhausted and had to veg on the couch.”

It might sound a little interesting, but it’s not important. It’s the story of a victim, of someone at the mercy of fate and circumstances. I don’t want that to be my life story.

What book is your soul writing about you? Are you on board with it or are you trying to write something less important?

Here is the story my soul is writing: “I am strong. I am confident. I am talented. I use my talents. I feed my talents and my talents feed me. I enjoy beauty and nature. I am beauty and nature. I live in harmony with the universe. My dreams are important to me. I am important to my dreams. I make my dreams come true.”

What is your story?

Leave a Reply

Categories

