Posted by: Cathy | May 8, 2013

Lotus rises from the mud

All plants need dirt. Dirt isn’t nice to look at, but it’s full of nourishing minerals. Just like going through an unpleasant experience, sometimes you need the unpleasantness to get at something good.

I’ve had my share of failed relationships. A cynic might say there are no good men out there and dating is a big waste of time. An optimist might say I just haven’t found the right guy yet and I learn about myself and human nature with every relationship; both friends and lovers.

In 2005, I had a bad break-up. I still can remember the pain of it; I felt physically ill and cried for days. But going through that emotional trauma was the breaking point that led me to leave Seattle for Denver. Five months after that break-up, I had a new life ahead of me in a new place with a new job.

Coach Blog 050813 Try not to wallow in the dirt. Sometimes, it’s actually good to be sad and simmer in it for a bit; don’t fight against it and accept it as a natural emotional cycle. Make sure, though, that you pull yourself out of it, or ask a friend to help you if you’re really stuck.

Try to find the lotus as you’re climbing out of the mud.

Responses

  1. I can pull myself out of the mud through most things, but I’m definitely a wallower about others.


Leave a Reply

Categories

