Posted by: Cathy | March 13, 2013

Leap of Faith

Are you tired of my spring metaphors yet? Making a leap day, hopping to it, springing forward; and that’s not all! Today I want to talk about leaps of faith.

Faith is a sticky word. For some people, it’s loaded with religious connotation and obligation. For some people, it’s illogical and something for fairy-stories. For other people, faith is strong and part of their every-day lives.

I’m not sure which group I’m in, but I do know that I’m an optimist. One notion I can get behind is faith in self. If you trust yourself, if you believe in yourself, leaps of faith become easier.

Well I need someone to hold me
But I’ll wait for something more
Yes I’ve gotta have faith …
– George Michael

A leap of faith is simply taking an action without knowing the outcome. Usually the action is something big or scary or intimidating; but within reason. You wouldn’t jump out of a plane without a parachute; if you want to go sky-diving, you go with a professional who teaches you how to do it, who gives you the equipment you need, and who jumps right along with you. You put your faith in the instructor and it makes the leap easier.

Coach Blog 031313 Similarly, if you want to take a leap of faith on your goal or project, you don’t just jump into thin air. You prepare as best as you can. You can never know 100% that your preparation will give you the results you want; that is the faith part. You have faith that, no matter what happens, you’ll do your best and you’ll be in an interesting, new position at the end of it.

My current leap of faith was to enroll in a coaching program in January. I’ve been thinking off and on over the years to go back to school for counseling or psychology, but it’s so expensive and such a time commitment. I started this blog last summer as a way to organize my own knowing about coaching, and I felt a tug to go deeper. I looked into a few different coaching programs and found one that felt like a great match to me, so I applied, my fingers trembling as I typed in the application. I got accepted, and I’m loving every minute of it. I took a leap of faith, and I’m still not sure where I’ll end up when my feet touch the ground, but I’m loving the adventure I’m on and I’m so glad I took a chance.

Risks are scary, change is scary, but if you can have faith in yourself, faith in your intuition, faith in the importance of your goal, it makes it easier to take a leap of faith. Look for a leap of faith you can take in your life. You don’t have to jump yet, but keep an eye out for opportunities. Tell the universe you want to take a leap and have faith that something amazing will cross your path.

Leave a Reply

Categories

