Posted by: Cathy | March 11, 2013

Spring Forward

The key to the power in a spring is potential energy. As you apply pressure to the coil, resistance is built up. When you release the pressure, it springs back into its original position.

Coach Blog 031113 Last week, I talked about unplanning. I feel like this is helping me build up potential energy. By resisting forward motion, I’m building up my desire to move. Once I’m ready to move, my steps will be more purposeful and focused. Like a butterfly in a cocoon or a flower bud, you will burst out in miraculous form.

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” – Anais Nin

If you want to build desire in your goal or project, forbid yourself from working on it. You know this works if you’ve ever tried to diet; as soon as you say “no more cookies!” all you can think about are cookies.

At first, you may feel guilty or that you failed, but keep forbidding yourself and you’ll get to a point of acceptance and rest. Allow yourself to rest and even forget your project. If it’s important and you really want it, you’ll remember when the time is right and your desire to work on it will build again. And then you can spring forward!

This sounds counter-intuitive, and I can’t guarantee it will work for everyone, but I know from my own experience that, when I’m feeling stressed, the best thing I can do is stop. I stop everything. I waste time with something frivolous or even just allow myself to be bored. I ignore the issue for a while. Then, when I’m ready to deal with the stress cause, my head is clearer and I have renewed energy.

As we get closer to the first day of Spring (March 20), give this a try if you need to cultivate potential energy. Stop working on something, even just for a day. Give yourself permission to be frivolous or bored. Don’t even think about your project. Curl up and rest in your cocoon, and know that transformation is taking place. Before you know it, you can’t help but spring forward!

Leave a Reply

Categories

