Posted by: Cathy | November 14, 2012

Is There an Echo in Here? Recurring Self-talk

Do you find yourself telling the same stories? (“I always get overwhelmed during the holidays!”)
Making the same excuses? (“I don’t have time for yoga today!”)
Limiting your abilities? (“I wish I could make my own holiday cards this year, but I’m just not creative!”)

Well, quit it! How you talk to yourself can impact you on a subconscious level.

Would you choose to give yourself an extra boost, an edge in your daily activities?
Or would you choose to start with a bunch of obstacles in your path, hindering you before you even begin?

You make this choice, whether you are aware of it or not, by your self-talk; and the things you say over and over become either big boulders or hot-air balloons.

Listen to the things you say about yourself or think to yourself. Are you proud of each thing? If not, change it! Turn your negative self-talk into positive affirmations.

“I always get overwhelmed during the holidays!” becomes “The holidays challenge me to remember grace and gratitude.”

“I don’t have time for yoga today!” becomes “I love how yoga makes me feel and I make time for it often.”

“I’m just not creative!” becomes “I like to try new projects and experiment with my creativity.”

Be supportive to yourself in your self-talk! Life is much easier with a cheerleader on your shoulder instead of a drill sergeant!

Don’t forget about our book give-away! Send in your entry today! Due tomorrow: Thurs, November 15!

Leave a Reply

Categories

