Posted by: Cathy | October 15, 2012

Tell the Truth

Last week, I talked about the power of questions, but it is just as important to give yourself truthful answers.

By telling the truth, you allow yourself to be specific. By getting specific, you plot out a pathway to your goal.

For instance, holiday season is fast approaching. I could say, well, I spent less than I budgeted on my vacation, so I could use that money to boost my holiday gift budget. But the truth is, I want to end the year with a certain amount of long-term/emergency savings in the bank. If I save my extra vacation money and stick with my original holiday gift budget, I can meet my savings goal. As tempting as it may be to splurge on my loved ones, the smarter thing is to save my money.

Here’s another example; National Novel Writing Month is coming up in November. Every year, I’m tempted to participate. I have lots of new story ideas, and I love the energy and potential unleashed by the writing challenge. But the truth is, I’m still working on another novel and, if I keep plugging forward at my slow and steady pace, I can have a draft done by the end of the year. I’m still feeling tender after being blocked for two years, so I’m trying to work at a gentle pace. The truth is, this year may not be best for me to attempt NaNoWriMo.

Sometimes, the truth can be scary; maybe you had a major repair on your car and you had to cut into your holiday budget, or maybe delays are going to make you miss a big deadline and you’ll have to work out other arrangements with a client. But ignoring the facts can only lead to more trouble; splurging on presents anyway will incur credit card debt, or keeping your client in the dark about issues until the last minute could damage your business relationship.

Truth is always the best medicine!

Responses

  1. It seems with every passing year I’m learning more and more the value of the truth–and especially being honest with yourself (which can sometime be the hardest). Good like with your November novel!


Leave a Reply

Categories

