Posted by: Cathy | August 29, 2012

Limited and Limitless Resources

Last week, I told you about my time audit. Obviously, there are only so many hours in a day and I want to be sure I’m making time for things that are important to me and things that will help me reach my goals.

Time isn’t the only resource we wish we had more of: money, energy, solutions, etc.

There are lots of articles online to help you budget your money, so I won’t talk too much about it here. I will say that you owe it to yourself to be responsible with your money. If you are a good steward of your money, you can make it work for you. Try to save a little every paycheck so you have a cushion for emergencies, even if you can only manage $10-20. I often buy generic items at the supermarket to save a little, and I usually go to movie matinees instead of paying full price. Also, I haven’t spent more than $20 on a pair of pants in at least 3 years – I always look at the clearance section first and try to wait for pre-/post-season sales, and I’ve found some really good deals ($45 pants for $15!). For me, I’d rather save money on those items so I can spend a little more in other places. Set priorities and try to think about where you can save money. Know what you can give up so you can invest in more important things.

You also owe it to yourself to be responsible with your energy. I mentioned Denise Linn last post, and she has an Energy Up/Energy Down exercise in her book, Soul Coaching. You can do this to clear clutter in a room, evaluate your to-do list, or choose between conflicting appointments. Basically, take a deep breath to center yourself, then look at each item in front of you. Does it make you smile, give you a sense of peace, or bring your energy up? Then keep it. Does it bring up bad memories, make you sigh with resignation, or otherwise drain your energy? Get rid of it, or deal with it as quickly as possible so you can get back to the good stuff. Don’t waste precious energy on things that drain you! Set boundaries and protect yourself.

You can also cultivate solutions by slowing down. Give yourself time to ponder and process what is going on with your issue. By making space in your head and in your day, you allow room to daydream and problem-solve in a more gentle, organic way. Make a mind map if that helps you, or just sit with a cup of tea and wonder what if …? Allow silly solutions to drift through your mind, and eventually you’ll hit upon one with a grain of possibility.

But all is not doom and gloom – we also have some limitless resources: love, laughter, appreciation, etc.

Have you ever been so full of love that you overflowed with tears?

Have you ever laughed so hard your face hurt but you just kept on laughing?

Have you ever taken a moment to say a genuine “thank you” and had that improve your mood for the rest of the day?

Whenever you’re focused on lack, try to pause and tap into a limitless resource. It will change your perspective and help retune you toward abundance.

Leave a Reply

Categories

