Posted by: Cathy | August 13, 2012

Idols: Marney Makridakis

As I said in my post on June 18 (Coaching Idols), it’s important to have inspirational role models as you’re coaching yourself. These people can be your resources, motivators, and trail-blazers so you’re not really going it alone!

Another of my idols is Marney Makridakis.

I don’t even remember how I first heard about Marney. I think an aquaintence sent me a link to Artella in the early 2000s. I’ve been getting her weekly newsletter ever since. She has great art and writing prompts in her newsletters.

Some great things I’ve learned from Marney:

1. “Artsignments” – Access a different part of your brain by turning your “problem” into an art project.
2. “Time isn’t hours, it is OURS.” – Marney recently did a free class on her new book, Creating Time, and this was my favorite quote. Claim time and make it yours instead of being a slave to the clock.
3. “It is the challenges in our life that provide us with the most rich opportunities to come alive, and to be alive ultimately means to change.” – This quote was in an April 2009 newsletter when I was very sad over the loss of my beloved cat, Lew. It reminded me that the universe must love me to offer support in seemingly random venues.

If you would like to try her newsletter, you can sign up here! You can also view a recent edition here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

