Posted by: Cathy | August 6, 2012

Sixth Sense

Last week, I introduced you to Sonia Choquette. Sonia is passionate about activating your inner guidance, and I find her message empowering so I wanted to talk more about it.

This is, in fact, why I started this blog – because I’m smart and somewhere I have a lot of answers inside me, I just have to dig a bit to find them.

I don’t have to run around to read the next self-help best seller or try the next big certification program. You don’t realize how much you know until you slow down and try asking YOURSELF first. Gurus and teachers are awesome, but you can’t defer to other people all the time and never check in to listen to yourself.

Part of trusting your own wisdom is to trust your intuition. The more you invoke intuition in your life, the more easily it will speak up and guide you. This is something I’m still practicing, but it’s like any introspection tool (meditation, yoga) – you need to make it a practice to enjoy the benefits. Doing one ten-minute meditation or one yoga class is nice, but the benefits are compounded the more you do it, and the more you do it the easier it gets.

Your intuition is like an inner barometer. Maybe you’re talking to a coworker and you get the feeling they’re not telling you the whole story. Maybe you’re meeting vendors and you immediately click with one in particular. A few years ago, I was walking my dog and suddenly got a bad feeling, so I turned around and went home; that night on the news, there was a report of an attempted child abduction at a nearby school.

In every-day life, these subtle feelings are spontaneous, but you can check in with your intuition about anything at any time. Just pause and feel your body. Are you tense? Do you feel a tightening in your stomach? Or do you feel open and relaxed? You can do this exercise when you need to make a subjective* decision, but make sure you’re listening to your body and not your mind. Your mind is the house of the ego, and your ego has very little information of actual use. Your mind can weigh the pros and cons to both sides of an issue, but you can feel the truth in your body.

*Some subjective decisions might be …
Two candidates seem good for a job, but who to hire?
Both have market potential, so should I focus on developing project A or B this week?
There’s a free seminar on social media and a networking event on the same night, which should I attend?

If you want to learn more about intuition, I highly recommend Sonia’s Hay House Radio show or look for her books at your local library or bookstore.

Leave a Reply

Categories

