Posted by: Cathy | July 16, 2012

Idols: Julia Cameron

As I said in my post on June 18 (Coaching Idols), it’s important to have inspirational role models as you’re coaching yourself. These people can be your resources, motivators, and trail-blazers so you’re not really going it alone!

Another of my idols is Julia Cameron.

I actually don’t remember how I came to her seminal book, The Artist’s Way, but I started it in October 2004 and have been thinking about rereading it soon. I think every artist or writer or creative person should read this book. The subtitle is “A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity”. It’s set up as a 12-week course, “recovering a sense” of different parts necessary to your creative self. I didn’t do the course perfectly the first time, I was more interested in reading the book and getting quick inspiration without putting the time in to do the exercises and homework. But there is no quick fix! So I want to give this book the time and attention it deserves.

I also read The Right to Write. I love books on writing, and this one is particularly good.

Some great things I’ve learned from Julia:

1. “Accumulate pages, not judgments.” You don’t have to be in the mood to do your creative work – show up and let it happen.
2. “Be willing to be a bad artist. Give yourself permission to be a beginner.” You have to start somewhere, and you start over every day.
3. “You will learn that it is actually easier to write than not write, paint than not paint, and so forth.” Focus on the process and the product will reveal itself.

And Julia “introduced” me to Sonia Choquette!

Try reading The Artist’s Way if you haven’t. Some books come to you in the right time, but this is an invaluable resource for any creative person and I recommend it to all my friends.

Responses

  1. I really like the line, “give yourself permission to be a beginner.” I feel that is true in ALL creative works…


Leave a Reply

Categories

