Posted by: Cathy | July 2, 2012

Idols: Jennifer Louden

As I said in my post on June 18 (Coaching Idols), it’s important to have inspirational role models as you’re coaching yourself. These people can be your resources, motivators, and trail-blazers so you’re not really going it alone!

One of my own, longest-term role models is Jennifer Louden.

I was introduced to her by my friend Aja in 2001 via Jen’s book, The Comfort Queen’s Guide to Life, now called Comfort Secrets for Busy Women. I have been a loyal fan of Jennifer’s ever since. I’ve been on her email newsletter since October 2001, and she often talks about issues right when I need to hear about them!

Jen is all about Savoring and Serving – “an experiment in finding the beauty and value in my process … in living the qualities of savor and serve – honestly living … in finding and following my heart’s desire … in how all of this can help us remake our world.”

Some great things I’ve learned from Jen:

1. “Minimum Requirements for Self-Care” (what you need each day to feel human – like drinking enough water, doing some yoga, getting fresh air, hugging your kids, etc.)
2. “Make a commitment to tend your yearning, the mysterious desire to express your truth that has been given to you.” (All your wants are there for a reason.)
3. Use Mindful Questions: “A mindful question, a question that invites you not to find the answer, but rather to see or sense fresh possibilities.” (Ask questions, wonder, ponder, learn.)

Another great book by Jen is The Women’s Retreat Book. This is a great resource if you want to make a “retreat” at home to jump-start a project, carve dedicated time to work through a block, or rejuvenate and regroup after you meet a goal.

And Jen “introduced” me to Susan Piver, one of my newer idols!

I hope you check out Jen’s newsletter/blog! She’s been an invaluable life-lesson teacher for me over the years.

Responses

  1. I gotta confirm, every time you have said you have something on your mind, she will talk about it soon afterwards. Everything that you have mentioned she says is extremely wise as well…


Leave a Reply

Categories

